The Coun­ty of Union has a com­mis­sion form of gov­ern­ment. Com­mis­sion­ers are elect­ed at-large to six-year terms and one or two Com­mis­sion­ers are elect­ed at each Gen­er­al Elec­tion in Novem­ber of even-num­bered years. The Board con­sists of five (5) members.

The Union Coun­ty Board of Com­mis­sion­ers deal with a vari­ety of issues relat­ing to the man­age­ment of the Coun­ty which includes the annu­al bud­get, con­sid­er­a­tion of ordi­nances and res­o­lu­tions, approval of claims of all Coun­ty depart­ments, nego­ti­a­tion and approval of labor con­tracts, ani­mal con­trol issues, High­way Depart­ment issues and oth­er duties relat­ing to the day-to-day oper­a­tions of the Coun­ty. The Com­mis­sion­ers elect the Chair­man and Vice Chair­man each year from their ranks.

The Union Coun­ty Board of Com­mis­sion­ers have reg­u­lar meet­ing on the sec­ond and fourth Fri­day of each month which are open to the pub­lic. Spe­cial meet­ings may be held from time to time. By statute, the Coun­ty Clerk is the Clerk of the Coun­ty Board of Com­mis­sion­ers and keeps all records per­tain­ing to offi­cial Board action. The Coun­ty Clerk attests all doc­u­ments act­ed upon by the Board of Com­mis­sion­ers and pre­pares the min­utes, or writ­ten record of each meeting’s actions, for approval. The State’s Attor­ney is legal advis­er to the Coun­ty Board of Commissioners.