1. Union County
  2. /
  3. Commissioners


Max Miller


Kent Pitts


Brandon Bierstedt


David Gould


Darryl Harvell


Phone: 618–833-8276
Fax: 618-551‑8650

309 West Market Street, Room 110
Jonesboro, Illinois 62952

Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

Duties & Responsibilities

The Coun­ty of Union has a com­mis­sion form of gov­ern­ment. Com­mis­sion­ers are elect­ed at large to six-year terms and one or two Com­mis­sion­ers are elect­ed at each Gen­er­al Elec­tion in Novem­ber of even-num­bered years. The Board will con­sist of five (5) mem­bers. The Union Coun­ty Board of Com­mis­sion­ers deal with a vari­ety of issues relat­ing to the man­age­ment of the Coun­ty which includes the annu­al bud­get, con­sid­er­a­tion of ordi­nances and res­o­lu­tions, approval of claims of all Coun­ty depart­ments, nego­ti­a­tion and approval of labor con­tracts, ani­mal con­trol issues, High­way Depart­ment issues and oth­er duties relat­ing to the day-to-day oper­a­tions of the Coun­ty. The Com­mis­sion­ers elect the Chair­man each year from their ranks. The Union Coun­ty Board of Com­mis­sion­ers have reg­u­lar meet­ing on the sec­ond and fourth Fri­day of each month which are open to the pub­lic. Spe­cial meet­ings may be held from time to time. By statute, the Coun­ty Clerk is the Clerk of the Coun­ty Board of Com­mis­sion­ers and keeps all records per­tain­ing to offi­cial Board action. The Coun­ty Clerk attests all doc­u­ments act­ed upon by the Board of Com­mis­sion­ers and pre­pares the min­utes, or writ­ten record of each meeting’s actions, for approval. The State’s Attor­ney is legal advi­sor to the Coun­ty Board of Com­mis­sion­ers.  
Need Assistance?

If you need assistance or have inquiries regarding the Union County website, please contact us. For more information, please search our site or refer to our departments listing for information on specific county services.