June 17, 2016

State’s Attor­ney Re-appoint­ed to Board of Direc­tors of
South­ern Illi­nois Child Death Inves­ti­ga­tion Task Force

Union Coun­ty State’s Attor­ney Tyler R. Edmonds was re-appoint­ed this week to the Board of Direc­tors of the South­ern Illi­nois Child Death Inves­ti­ga­tion Task Force.  The Task Force is a col­lab­o­ra­tive effort of state and local law enforce­ment, pros­e­cu­tors, coro­ners, child advo­ca­cy cen­ters and the Illi­nois Depart­ment of Chil­dren and Fam­i­ly Ser­vices work­ing to enhance the response to child deaths in the south­ern 34 coun­ties of Illi­nois.  The Task Force was cre­at­ed to pro­vide pro­fes­sion­al resources to all dis­ci­plines involved in the inves­ti­ga­tion of child deaths and seri­ous life-threat­en­ing injuries to chil­dren.  Task Force mem­bers are avail­able to train and assist local law enforce­ment in the inves­ti­ga­tion of such cas­es.  The Board of Direc­tors is respon­si­ble for for­mu­lat­ing and imple­ment­ing major polices of the Task Force and appoint­ing com­mand and super­vi­so­ry offi­cers of the Task Force.  The Board of Direc­tors con­sists of 16 mem­bers appoint­ed to four year terms.

After being re-appoint­ed to the Board of Direc­tors, State’s Attor­ney Edmonds said “There is no greater pri­or­i­ty than pro­tect­ing our chil­dren from harm and I am hon­ored to work on the Board of Direc­tors.  The Child Death Inves­ti­ga­tion Task Force con­tin­ues to be an invalu­able resource to inves­ti­ga­tions in Union Coun­ty and through­out South­ern Illinois.”

The Task Force serves the fol­low­ing coun­ties: Alexan­der, Bond, Clay, Clin­ton, Craw­ford, Edwards, Eff­in­g­ham, Fayette, Franklin, Gal­latin, Hamil­ton, Hardin, Jack­son, Jasper, Jef­fer­son, John­son, Lawrence, Madi­son, Mar­i­on, Mas­sac, Mon­roe, Per­ry, Pope, Pulas­ki, Ran­dolph, Rich­land, Saline, St. Clair, Union, Wabash, Wash­ing­ton, Wayne, White and Williamson.