The Sher­iff shall appoint three (3) com­mis­sion­ers with the advice and con­sent of the Coun­ty Board.  The term of office shall be six (6) years with one term of office expir­ing every two (2) years.  No more than two (2) com­mis­sion­ers shall be from the same polit­i­cal par­ty.  The mem­bers of the Mer­it Com­mis­sion shall receive Twen­­ty-Five Dol­lars ($25.00) per diem for com­pen­sa­tion for their ser­vices and shall be reim­bursed for rea­son­able and nec­es­sary expens­es.  (See 55 ILCS 5/8003)